Tel: 00264 - Click to show number
After Hours: 00264 - Click to show number
Street Address: Industrial Road, Oranjemund, Namibia
No Alternative Contacts available
Fax: 00264 - Click to view
Postal Address: P.O. Box 1863 Oranjemund Namibia
GPS Coordinates: 28°33'04.2"S 16°25'27.8"E
B-BBEE Levels: Pending
No data available
ranjemund (German for: "Mouth of Oranje") is a town of 4,000 inhabitants situated in the extreme southwest of Namibia, on the northern bank of the Orange River mouth. It exists to service the diamond industry.
The town was run by Namdeb (formerly Consolidated Diamond Mines), now a subsidiary of De Beers. Access to, and settlement in Oranjemund was restricted to employees and their relatives. Its infrastructure is superior to that of other towns in Namibia's South, due to it not being dependent on cost recovery from its inhabitants. In the second half of the 20th century, Oranjemund featured a large recreational complex with swimming pool, cinema, restaurants and bars. Water is still provided free of charge, and until 2009 so was electricity. There is a border post to South Africa, only persons with pre-application of 1 month are allowed to cross the border.
First established in 1936, following Hans Merensky's discovery of significant alluvialdiamond deposits on the north bank of the Orange River and the adjacent northern coastline. Production of mainly gem-quality diamonds has remained in the region of 2 million carats (400 kg) per year since inception of the mine, mainly through improvements in technology.
In 2012 the town was proclaimed an open town and the 2221 registered voters could elect local authority councillors for the first time on 16 March 2012